Kefta Sandwich

July 29, 2011 § 5 Comments

This is exactly what you have been looking for. Why? Because it is an amazing flavorful meal that can be put together in nearly no time. Am I starting to sound like Rachel Ray? Even if I am it’s worth it for these things. I can’t even remember how I came across this dish, but I do remember wanting to make it again soon. Usually I’m the type of person that is looking forward to trying out the latest recipe but in this case I was looking forward to repeating this recipe right away. I usually make this dish with fresh pita bread topped with shredded lettuce and tomato but I didn’t have those around when I made it last, so we improvised as usual. Still good, just less authentic. I would strongly recommend the pita route but you can’t really go wrong either way as long as you don’t skip on the tzatziki sauce–a whole lot of refreshing cucumber and yoghurt goodness. Ok, maybe that doesn’t sound as good as I think it does, but it’s good.

I’ve been cooking up some other delicious concoctions that use pita bread. A couple of days ago I made falafels for the first time. No pictures I’m afraid–camera is still down but it is now finally in the shop (here is hoping that it comes back functional!). But they tasted great and they made for some amazing pita sandwiches. Next time I’ll cook them a bit longer because they had the tendency to fall apart on me, although that didn’t detract from its flavor. With Sam going to work all day, I’ve been making him sandwiches to get through the day. This has led to some interesting sandwich spreads and fillings. I think my favorite is hummus spread on pita with a meat and cheese filling but the pesto sandwich with Gorgonzola is pretty good too. If I keep this up I’ll have to start a sandwich blog. These kefta make for great sandwiches on regular white bread or on more traditional pita bread–I’ll have to make them again soon!

I can’t wait until I can have my camera back–it isn’t nearly as fun to post new blogs about archived food.

Kefta Sandwich

Ingredients

For the Keftas:
1 lb Ground meat (I used beef)
1/4 cup red onion, chopped
2 garlic clove, minced
1/4 cup parsley, chopped
2 teaspoons cumin
1 teaspoon cayenne pepper
2 teaspoons salt
1 teaspoon black pepper
1 teaspoon dried oregano
2 teaspoons fresh lemon juice
1/4 cup olive oil

For the tzatziki:
8oz (1 cup) yoghurt (I like using greek yoghurt but the regular kind works as well)
1/2 cucumber, deseeded and chopped into small cubes
1 tablespoon lemon juice
2 teaspoon red wine vinegar
1 teaspoon olive oil
2 garlic cloves, minced
1/4 cup mint, chopped
1 teaspoon dried dill
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon black pepper

Pita bread
Lettuce, chopped
Tomatoes, diced
Red onion, chopped
Cilantro

Directions

For the keftas (meatballs): Mix together all the ingredient for the keftas, except for the oil, in a large bowl. Shape the meat into oblong patties about 3 inches long and 1 inch wide. Then the oil in a large frying pan over medium high heat. Add the patties one by one, leaving enough room between them to flip them over. Cook on three side for about 2-3 minutes on each side. Then remove the patties from the pan and place on a paper towel to drain. Set aside.

For the tzatziki:
Combine all ingredients for the tzatziki in a bowl and stir.

Assembly:
Open your pita bread and place two patties inside it. Add your toppings (lettuce, tomatoes, red onion, cilantro) and top with tzatziki.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 5 Responses to Kefta Sandwich

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Kefta Sandwich at Red Pepper, Green Pepper.

meta

