Mushroom & Cilantro Quesadillas

July 11, 2011 § 3 Comments

I really love mushrooms. I usually have at least one small container of mushrooms in the fridge at all times. After moving out of our cute little apartment in San Luis Obispo Sam and I have been bouncing around. We spent a few weeks up in the bay area and now we are temporarily settled at my mom’s place in San Diego. One of nice things about being in a bigger city than San Luis Obispo is the supermarkets. Instead of just having Safeway and Albertson’s you can find all different kinds of ethnic markets. One of favorite ones in San Diego is the Vietnamese market that happens to be just up the street from where my mom lives. I got so excited when I was there that I bought 4 different kinds of mushrooms! I have yet to use several of them, but I have great plans for all of them.

Back in SLO (San Luis Obispo) the only mushrooms I could find were plain ole button mushrooms. Not that there is anything wrong with them, I’ve simply developed a more complex mushroom taste. But I must say, the versatility of the button mushroom is astounding…Soup, sandwiches, risotto, burgers–it can do it all, and for that I appreciate the classic button mushroom.

This dish was something I made a while ago when we were still in San Luis Obispo. Sam had just made himself his version of a quesadilla, which means microwaving a tortilla with some mexican cheese from costco, when I realized I was hungry too. I saw his lunch and decided I wanted a quesadilla as well but one that would be done my way. Of course this means that I spent 30 minutes making lunch instead of the 45 seconds it took Sam. Although mine did turn out to be a bit different than his but I still shared.

I think this quesadilla could have done really well with some pico de gallo. What is pico de gallo you may ask, literally it means rooster’s beak but it is actually a tomato, onion, chili and cilantro mixture. It is like the bruschetta topping of central america–cut the olive oil and add some spicy. I’ll have to make some soon because I’m getting hungry just thinking about it.

Mushroom Quesadillas

Inspired by my ridiculous love of mushrooms

Ingredients

For the quesadilla:
4 Large flour tortillas
1 tablespoon olive oil
5 oz of slices mushrooms
1 green bell pepper deribbed and deseeded, sliced into 1/2 wide strips
1 onion, sliced thinly
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon pepper
1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper
1 cup shredded cheddar cheese
1/2 cup crumbled feta
1/2 bunch of cilantro

For the mushroom gravy:
1/4 cup white wine
2 Tablespoons water
1 Tablespoon cornstarch

Directions

Add the olive oil to medium size frying pan. Turn the heat to medium high and add the mushrooms, bell peppers, and onion. Cook for about 5 minutes until slightly soft. Add the salt, pepper, and cayenne. Stir in the spice and then transfer the mushroom mixture to a bowl. Leave all juice in the pan and return the pan to the heat. Add the white wine and reduce until almost evaporated. In a separate bowl combine the water and cornstarch to make a sticky paste, add this to the gravy to thicken it. Let to mixture come to a boil and then remove from heat and save for the quesadillas.

In a separate and clean pan, place the tortilla in the pan over medium heat. Add a 1/4 cup cheddar cheese, 1/4 of the mushroom mixture from earlier, and  two tablespoons of feta cheese to half of the tortilla. Then fold the other half on top of the tortilla and cook until the bottom side is slight brown and the cheese have begun to melt. Flip the quesadilla over and brown on the other side. Remove from the pan and repeat with remaining tortillas and mixture. Serve with gravy spooned over the top and garnish with cilantro.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

§ 3 Responses to Mushroom & Cilantro Quesadillas

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Mushroom & Cilantro Quesadillas at Red Pepper, Green Pepper.

meta

