Sushi rolls and Sauces

July 6, 2011 § 1 Comment

What feels like ages ago, we had a sushi party, and then a few weeks later we had another. Sam and rolled about 8 rolls of sushi and then shared them with some great company. It was a total mess. There was rice everywhere. They mean it when they call it sticky rice. But it was so fun. And then we had a lovely stay with Sam’s family and had a sushi party there as well. That one was a lot bigger (Over 200 pieces?) and a lot more delicious. Its all about the fresh fish, I’ll remember that next time.

If you like the tempura-ed rolls with baked mushrooms and scallops on top, these are probably not the type of sushi for you. They were quite plain and simple, but ultimately good and quite the healthy meal. I think the sauces that we made to go with them really made them worthwhile. One of the sauces was a spicy mayo made with delicious sriracha and the other was a sweet soy sauce glaze. It doesn’t seem like a mayo sauce would go with sushi, but I promise you that the pinkish-orange sauce you get at the restaurants really is a spicy mayo. By the way, these sauce are really quick and easy, and I bet that you could use them for other dishes too.

As you may have noticed my blogging inactivity continues. For now, I continue to make food but nothing too interesting until I have a camera again. I really need to figure out what is wrong with my camera but I’m not ready to spend that kind of money until I have a job. Until then I’ll occasionally drag myself to find old unblogged things to talk about. Don’t give up on me yet. You’ll be flooded with delicious recipes and pictures just as soon as I can get the camera going again. I hope that is sooner rather than later.

For this post I think I’ll only give you guys the recipe for the sauce since our sushi rolls that we made without much direction or annotation. I bet you could find much more helpful posts or directions on how to make sushi elsewhere. The first time I made them it was a bit tricky but you’ll get the hang of it, just keep rolling.

Sushi Rolls and Sauces

Ingredients

For Spicy Mayo:
1/2 cup mayonnaise
2 Tablespoons of Sriracha sauce
1 Tablespoon lemon juice
1 Tablespoon of soy sauce
2 teaspoons sesame oil
pinch of salt

For sweet soy sauce glaze:
1/2 cup soy sauce
1/4 cup granulated sugar
1 Tablespoon honey

Directions

For spicy mayo:
Combine all ingredients in a bowl and stir. Use for dipping.

For sweet soy sauce glaze:
Place a saucepan over medium high heat and add the soy sauce, sugar and honey to the sauce pan. Heat until the mixture comes to a boil and reduced by 1/2. Remove from heat and drizzle over your sushi rolls.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ One Response to Sushi rolls and Sauces

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Sushi rolls and Sauces at Red Pepper, Green Pepper.

meta

