Bruschetta

June 12, 2011 § 1 Comment

Did you know that this is supposed to be pronounced ‘brusketta’? I had no idea. I’ve been saying it the wrong way for a long time. I guess three months of Italian classes didn’t pay off.

When I was looking up bruschetta recipes after my craving, I learned that it was originally made with just bread, garlic, salt and pepper. Now we have tons of variations.  This recipe that I will be posting for you is a combination of several different recipes I came across. I always like to pick and choose bits from different recipes to make my own semi original recipe. Plus, I have some sort of issue where I simply can’t follow any recipe to the letter. I’m always changing something around. Not that it’s always for the best but some tweaking can be good.

Its weird how much one’s taste can change. I have despised tomatoes for as long as I can remember but for some reason I had a desire to make bruschetta after watching Julie & Julia for the second time. There is a scene where Julie makes dinner for her husband, it looked like bruschetta and it looked delicious. So off I went to Vons to buy tomatoes (they were on sale, yay). I have always loved a tomato sauce for pasta, or a spicy Mexican salsa but aside from that tomatoes have been on my ‘no-thanks list’. I still get an icky feeling when I chop or de-seed a tomato, but at least now I know how good they can taste with some vinegar and not much else. My brain still thinks that I don’t like tomatoes, but my taste buds enjoyed them. I loved this recipe and surprisingly, Sam, another tomato non-enthusiast, liked it to.

We made this, along with some other appetizers for a light dinner a couple of days ago, and it held up pretty well the following day as well. Just leave the bread and the tomato mixture separate until you are ready to eat them and it keeps just fine. It was really easy to make, and it made a lot more than I had expected it to, the perfect thing to take to a dinner party.

Bruschetta

Ingredients

4 large tomatoes, deseeded and chopped
1/2 red onion, minced
1/2  a bunch of basil, thinly sliced
2 teaspoons red wine vinegar (or balsamic vinegar)
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon black pepper
pinch of sugar
olive oil
One baguette
2 cloves of garlic, peeled

Directions

Combine the chopped tomatoes, onion, basil, vinegar, salt, pepper, pinch of sugar and 1 tablespoon of olive oil. Toss gently and set aside until needed. You can combine these ingredients several hours before you make the bruschetta.

Heat oven to 375 degrees F

Slice the baguette diagonally into rounds that are 1/2 inch thick. Place the bread slices on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper. Brush eat piece of bread with some olive oil and then them place in the oven for 5-7 minutes. Take the bread out of the oven and while the bread is still warm, rub it with the peeled garlic. Then top the bread with several tablespoons of the tomato mixture and serve.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

§ One Response to Bruschetta

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Bruschetta at Red Pepper, Green Pepper.

meta

