Yoghurt Pancakes

June 6, 2011 § 3 Comments


It’s Monday morning of finals week for Sam, and the ants have invaded, very unfortunate timing. They devoured our leftover baklava and everything else edible that was on our dining room table. I feel like I’m in Nicaragua again. So many ants. Back there we kept everything in the fridge: spices, pancake mix, flour, baking soda, pasta, you name it and it was in the fridge. Anything that would typically would be found in a pantry had to live in the fridge to avoid ant infestation. Only cans were immune to the ants.

I thought this was a perfectly normal practice until I came to the states. No flour in the refrigerator here. Silly me, but I easily got accustomed to leaving things out without fear. That’s when they get you, right when you are not expecting it. Now I have properly packed everything up and I’m ready for a fight. They will not be getting any free lunches anymore.

Enough with the ant rant (ha!) and back to the point–pancakes. I was trying to help cheer Sam up this morning by making him some pancakes but when I pulled out our store-bought pancake mix I was greeted by several black specks moving around inside the bag. I have no idea how they could have even gotten to the top shelf of our cupboard and into the folded bag that was inside a (semi) sealed box, but they did. So into the garbage it went.

Time for plan b. I figured, I might as well make some pancakes from scratch, seemed easy enough, and it was! Why would anyone ever buy a mix when you most likely have all the ingredients to make it at home. And they taste better, too. I used yoghurt in the mix because I read somewhere that sour cream in pancake mix was good, but I didn’t have any so I thought yoghurt would work in its place. It made the pancakes very light on the inside but slightly crisp on the outside, just the way I like them. Be warned, these are not your ordinary cakey pancake, they are so much better.

Yoghurt Pancakes

Created out of sheer need for pancakes

Ingredients

1/2 cup all purpose flour
1 tablespoon sugar
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup yoghurt (or sour cream or buttermilk)
2 large eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
Butter
Chocolate chips (If you are feeling adventurous)

Directions

Heat a cast iron skillet or griddle over medium-low heat; you want it to slowly get nice and hot. (I was in a rush and cranked it to high, so we had some slightly charred pancakes–still tasted delicious, just made for some less attractive pancakes).

Stir the flour, sugar, baking soda and salt together in the bottom of a medium bowl. Dump the yoghurt in on top and stir it together very gently; a lumpy mix is a good mix. Add the eggs and vanilla and stir them in gently, don’t overmix or else your pancakes will be tough and chewy.

Melt about a tablespoon of butter in your skillet or griddle and pour the batter in. Add chocolate chips to your individual pancake if using. Cook for about 2 minutes on the first side, or until bubbles appear all over the surface flipping them carefully and cooking for about a minute on the other side. Repeat with remaining batter.

Eat and enjoy. Personally, I like them with a hint of syrup and banana slices.

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

§ 3 Responses to Yoghurt Pancakes

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Yoghurt Pancakes at Red Pepper, Green Pepper.

meta

